huntmaster 23-May-13
huntmaster 23-May-13
Teeton 23-May-13
fuzzy 24-May-13
Parker35 24-May-13
fuzzy 24-May-13

Date:18-May-13
Parker35's Supporting Link

Check out and Discuss my The Family Farm hunting property! Hit the link above to view.

Date:20-May-13

Are you planning on hunting these plots regularly? I love small plots setup between a "line of travel" from bedding to feeding.

Are you planning on putting bedding areas back in the woods behind the stands?

Keep in mind that the does will bed close to their main food source and bucks bed for security usually layered behind the does.

Parker35's MOBILE embedded Photo

Thanks Pat and HuntMaster,

I am in Wayne County, which is in the North East part of the state. My family has owned the property for a long time now. It is no longer an active farm so I have decided to try to improve the habitat where I can.

I have hunted for 25 years now, but I am new to QDM, and I am quickly getting hooked. The 100 acres, outlined in red, is the area I am working on. We have two abandoned commercial apple orchards in the southern part of the property. (I have attached a photo.) The one orchard probably has 200 trees that I spent pruning this winter. The second orchard has more trees, but it is near the house so it is more for night time feeding.

So with the apples and beach trees we do have food. Right now I am focusing on taking those ten acres of hay field that I don't feel offer much to the deer or hunter, and hopefully turning them into a hot spot of bedding and isolated feeding.

The goal is to have about 4 acres of food plot and 6 acres of NWSG. I am hoping the NWSG keeps mature bucks on our property more often. Also, I hope breaking up all the plots gets the bucks to move more during the day and feel comfortable in the smaller plots.